autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Porter Cable 7424XP

I just bought one and I'm new to detailing so I apologize of this is a stupid question or if this has been asked before. I don't have my DA with me right now, but I remember the counterweight saying something along the lines of using only a 5-inch pad or backing plate. I wanted to use a 3.5" plate with 4" pads, is this okay to do? I have a black 2010 Camaro so I think you can see why I would want to make sure that what I want to do is safe? I just want to remove a few lines that either myself or the dealership put in from washing the car. Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Porter Cable 7424XP

It will be fine.

Post Thanks / Like

never had issue with counterweights and PC, and used many different backing plates.

Scott

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by killrwheels@autogeek View Post
    never had issue with counterweights and PC, and used many different backing plates.
    I also heard that you would need to change the counter weigh, and I noticed when I used my 3.5" backing plate that the 4" pad didn't spin very well? I wasn't putting any pressure on it just the weigh of the machine? If it doesn't spin freely would you advise changing the counterweight? Will it make a differance?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Camaro2010 View Post
    I also heard that you would need to change the counter weigh, and I noticed when I used my 3.5" backing plate that the 4" pad didn't spin very well? I wasn't putting any pressure on it just the weigh of the machine? If it doesn't spin freely would you advise changing the counterweight? Will it make a differance?