autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New to detailing, please answer my questions!

Hello,

So I'm very new to detailing, and I got myself a Rupes Bigfoot machine to start, along with Rupes UNO Protect and UNO Pure. But I have a couple questions.

My car is black, and it's practically new, so I don't want to go very aggressive on what I do to it. I want to make sure that the products I'm using are the right ones! I'm just looking to correct the mild defects a car comes with when you pick it up from a dealer. Paint swirls, etc. No heavy scratches. So here we go:

1. Are Rupes UNO Protect and Pure supposed to go together? Or it's one or the other? In which case, which one would be recommended?

2. What speed should my machine be at for using either of these products? What speed for Polishing and what speed for correcting?

3. Should I be using Foam pads or Wool pads? Any advantages?

Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New to detailing, please answer my questions!

What kind of car?

1. UNO Protect is an all-in-one polish. They can remove light to moderate defects and are very useful for detailers when they are looking to quickly add some gloss to a vehicle, remove light defects and add a little protection. UNO Pure is a finishing polish. You'd use this after doing a heavy compound with something like D-A Course or you can use it to add maximum gloss if your paint is already in pretty good condition and you're not looking to remove defects. Of the two you have Protect is going to have the most correcting power.

2. 3 to 4