autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Polisher question for newbie

Hi, I apologize if this is not the correct thread...I posted in a couple other threads. I'm brand new to polishing. I've done it once by hand, but curious about getting a polisher.

1. Is there a difference between dual action and random orbital polishers, or are they the same? If they are the same, what's with the 2 "names"?

2. Is it worth getting a mini polisher? I have a daily driver sedan and I know it's useful for smaller areas, but I'd rather not have 2 polishers if doing it by hand is worth it.

3. Are the griots backing plates any good for their polishers, or should I get something else? Any suggestions for a backing plate for the PC7424XP?

4. I have some slight swirls mostly on my hood, any liquids that is the best to remove? I do use the Mothers 3 step Ultimate Wax system.

5. Does anyone polish by hand some times and with a polisher other times, or is that just dumb lol

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm brand new. We all gotta start somewhere!

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

3. Likes Mike Hoekstra, PaulMys liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Polisher question for newbie

1. Is there a difference between dual action and random orbital polishers, or are they the same? If they are the same, what's with the 2 "names"?

No the are the same. No idea the 2 names.

2. Is it worth getting a mini polisher? I have a daily driver sedan and I know it's useful for smaller areas, but I'd rather not have 2 polishers if doing it by hand is worth it.

Personally I 100% think it’s worth it makes it faster and shortens work load over doing by hand. Better results too. The griots g8 is not to expensive.