autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Is Ceramic Coating Worth It?

Is Ceramic Coating Worth It?

I repainted half of my 05 Saab 9-2x Aero due to the original owners not removing love bugs from the front end. Been thinking how am I going to maintain this in Central Florida with the heat and sun while also protecting the front end of the car from bugs and chips.

I'm pretty set on doing PPF (Xpel okay?) but I'm still hesitant on the Ceramic Coating. I'm not a professional detailer and don't feel comfortable doing it myself. I know my car is only worth $10-$12k even with only 33k miles so I know I don't want to invest a crazy amount into the car over time having to have it reapplied.

Originally I wanted to do Cquartz Finest but the local guy wanted $2k and thats not even doing the trim. More than I want to spend.

Another local offers Feynlab w/1 year $600, 3 year $800, 5 year $1100, 7 year $2500 and that includes the trim and cleaning the interior.

I know "Is it worth it" is a matter of opinion but I'd love some feedback or suggestions.

I've watched a ton of videos and the common thread is detailers saying it is 5/7/10 year but in reality it might only last 1-2 years depending on how well you maintain it. Who wants to pay for 5 years if in reality it only last 2?

Seems to be a lot of people offering this even as mobile detailers but I don't know if this process is really meant for someone doing mobile? I'm open to other brands and locations and what might be best for a daily driver in central Florida.

Last edited by TheGrayAero; 03-15-2018 at 11:07 AM. Reason: Added more photos of the car.

Mike Phillips

Re: Is Ceramic Coating Worth It?