autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Need help with scratches on a used car that I don't know how agressive I can be...

I'm a DIYer and I don't have a paint meter. Not too long ago we bought a 3rd car (for future teen drivers), a 2014 Honda Civic with 26,000 miles on it. It was a long and horrible process to even find this for the budget. I don't typically buy used cars at this budget so I've learned it's super tough if you want it to be perfect, but I also learned I'm not good at it, so no need to remind me please. It didn't take long to see scratches were covered with WD40 or something else. Outside the more significant scratches, the car doesn't have swirls, so I'm confident they did do a light polish on it at least.

The pictures are listed below. I'm curious how you would attack each one.

The choices that I see are...

1) Fill lighter ones with a Glaze and see what happens (if anything) and then topped with a LSP (FK1000p). It's an interesting thought I'm going to test just to see how things work out. I'm interested for my other car (in new condition) as I want that gloss but don't want to polish it often over time.
    2) Try DrColorChip and use their SealAct solution.
    3) Touch up paint them, then wet sand that area (and pray I don't ruin the surrounding clear).
    4) Try a Clear Coat Pen.
    5) Maybe learn how to use a small air brush (I have one) for this purpose.
    5) Live with it.
    6) Bring it to a body shop. Valid answer but will absolutely wait to see what the kids do to it over time.

Picture A) Side door and there are a few others just like this.