Hi Mike, Posting over here, hopefully you can help. Thanks in advance

Need Help Color Sanding and Buffing – SPI Clear

Products Used:
Silver Metallic Base Coat
SPI –UV Clear Fresh- 1 week old, air dried, no bake
Norton Black Ice P1000, P1500, P2000 all wet by hand
Tried one piece of 3M Trizact 3000 wet by hand also on atest
M105 on 8” 3M Wool Compounding Pad05719 (recommended for Perfect-it step 1)
Makita 7”Grinder/Sander Variablespeed rotary. Running at slowspeed.Trying for about 1500 rpm
M205 on 8” yellow foam pad
5000K LED Tube lights in the booth. Look similar to a fluorescent tube

Hi All,
I am new to color sanding and buffing and need help. I am seeing what I believe are 2000 grit sanding scratch texture / pattern after I buff. M105 appears to round them and produce a nice shine, but does not flatten them.I expected flattening, not rounding and smoothing, maybe my expectations are off….

A little back ground. I have a 2001 F150 that I completely re built from the frame up.Sand blasted, painted every nook and cranny.(I am practicing for the classic63 caddy convertible I plan to rebuild). Cut out a lot of rust, welded in new metal (getting pretty good forming metal and tig welding).Did all the bodywork and painted myself. (My body work is as straight as an arrow, took me 30 years to learn to sand properly ). It is a silver metallic with 3 coats (about 4mils) of SPI UV Clear. Paint is a little over a week old at this point.
I had dirt, lint and fibers in it even after building a simple paint booth with filtered, pressurized air (surprised me, thought my booth would keep that out). So I decided to color sand to remove the dirt and orange peel.I started with 1000 grit wet and a E-7200 pad by hand, then 1500 and then 2000. Wet sanding by hand took a week..Whew.. Then used a wool pad on a rotary buffer and M105. With in 10 to 15 secs, a gloss develops and it looks good from a distance.