autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy Polishing aluminium and it stays hazy/scratched?

Hey guys, This is my first time poster on the forums but a long time reader of all the guides and posts.

I recently purchased some 1 piece wheels for my show car build and there were tiny lines in the "polished" dish from where it was CNC'd.
    The reason i say "Polished" is because its about as dull as standard alloy wheels everyone else has....maybe not that bad, But still not even close for what I'd like.

So I first started wet sanding to get all the tiny lines out for a completely flat glass like surface, Then using 3 different polishing wheels and rouges and finally finishing with mothers.
    The end result...Worse than when I started. I've used this same technique to polish the intake housing on my turbo and it turned out looking perfect, So I'm stumped as to why my wheels wont polish up as nice.

Tried to upload pictures but keeps failing and URL doesn't seem to want to work either, Oh well.

Any advice or ideas is much appreciated.

Cheers.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Polishing aluminium and it stays hazy/scratched?

Pictures Please
    Beware of those giving suggestions without evidence of their results.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by AGOatemywallet View Post
    Pictures Please
    I've tried to add photos but It wont let me for some reason.

Heres a link to my imgur uploads. Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

Hazy spot is metal thats been polished and next to it is untouched metal since I hadn't sanded through the clear coat.

Post Thanks / Like