autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Preparing a car for a concour d'elegance competition

Hello Mike,

I have to work on a car to prepare it for a concour d'elegance in 2 weeks.

I have never done that before so I would like some tips on things to look for, and advice on how to go about the detail.

The client told me the paint on this 1985 Alpha Romeo was in great shape (I hope it's true, something people just don't know how to evaluate paint). And he wanted it waxed. I explained to him that shine is a matter of paint perfection and it would at least need some polishing before applying a wax.

He mentionned he had plastic in the bottom of the car he did not want wax on because they are mate and he wanted them to remain that way (fair enough).

Here is what the car should look like : http://13252-presscdn-0-94.pagely.ne...6-Sale-310.jpg

So. Here is my plan:

1. Wash (snow foam, 2 bucket wash, drying)
    2. Chemical decontamination (Iron X) and Tar-x if needed
    3. Physical decontamination (nanoskin fine sponge). Should I use a clay bar instead?
    4. Light polishing unless the paint is damaged. I am thinking finishing pad with M205. Is that something appropriate for what this client needs? If the paint is damaged, I will have to talk to him and see what he wants to do, so I am assuming no swirl marks or scratches right now. Just want to remove any LSP that might be in place and any oxydation to make the paint pop.
    5. Car Pro reload as a Sealant (in my arsenal this is the product that seems to give the best shine)