autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question about Wolfgang products.

Ok, I got my porter cable RA on the way with some wolfgang swirl remover and finishing glaze. It is my first time doing this entire process. I know first I should clay the surface, then use swirl remover with an orange pad, then finishing glaze with a gray pad, then the paint sealant. I also already own some paintwork polish enhancer. Should this be used in this process as well or is it not really needed? Seems to me it is used whn you are not using the swirl remover and glaze but I am not sure.

Thanks
    Scott

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Question about Wolfgang products.

You don't always need something as harsh as an orange pad. A white pad will do most of the time. It depends upon the paint condition. Always start finer, and if it doesn't work, go more abrasive. Do a test spot about a foot square to determine the effectiveness of your approach. If your results are satisfactory, do the whole car like that. If not, change your approach until you get what you want, and then do the same on the whole car. Don't try one approach on the whole car hoping it works without testing it on one spot, or you can waste hours.
    You MIGHT get lucky, but better to know first.

Most likely, this calls for a white pad with swirl remover, followed by a black pad with finishing glaze, but not all cars are in the same condition. Some may need the orange pad first, some might just need the black pad with finishing glaze. I like using paintwork polish enhancer as a last step. I believe it made the car look better. (It was a dark metallic blue Honda)