PDA

View Full Version : swirls wont come out. any ideas?

Pages : [1] 2

wils91
06-25-2014, 03:01 PM
Hi everyone. first post.

trying to figure out what i'm doing wrong.

I'm new to using a DA. and recently started getting good quality products to take care of mine, and my wife's vehicles. never used 2 buckets, grit guards, good mitts, dryed sing only towels, etc. now i have all that stuff and am ready to take care of our cars vehicles the correct way.

One day when washing my Ingot Silver 2012 F-150 I noticed some light-medium swirling/scratching on the hood. this was out in the sun and at an angle i could see them. I can't really see any on the body panels but i'm sure they are there.

fast forward to today. I had some time so i though i could try out some stuff on the hood to see if i could remove the swirling. the truck was clean but i did a good rinse less anyway using ONR and many towels, going in an S pattern. i then clayed using a Nanoskin wash mitt using diluted ONR as a lube. wiped again with my rinsless wash and dryed it off.

I was working in my garage for the polishing step.

PC7424 XP with 5" bp

I have some of the Wolfgang Swirl remover, Wolfgang finishing glaze, Griots 1 step polish/sealant. i also have LC flat pads in 5.5" in Orange, White, Black, and Blue (6 each)

Here is what pad/product combos i tried.

WG Glaze/black
WG Glaze/white
WG glaze/orange
WG swirl remover/black
WG swirl remover/white
WG swirl remover/orange
GG 1 step black/white/orange

i was trying small areas for each combo. 4-6 passes going in the cross hatch pattern. it also seemed like with even using light-medium pressure the pad would want to stop spinning. I primed the pad and used pea sized dots while cleaning the pads with a terry towel. i feel that i was using enough product. i felt i was going slow enough as well.

after everything i tried, the swirls were still there. they are hard to see as it is because of the silver paint but i know they are there and it bothers me.