PDA

View Full Version : What is the "best" coating

Pages : [1] 2 3

EliteImageDetailing
07-18-2013, 03:26 PM
I'm looking for input on those who have used the coatings out there and compare to opti coat 2.0

The only coatings I've installed by itself and used are opti coat 2.0 but interested in topping/adding permanon gtechniq and carpro hydro2.

I'm looking to do something different perhaps on my two cars ('13 Pathfinder and '14 GTR) I love detailing and obviously something I do for money. But I have no experience with anything other then optimum. Would it be considered a good idea to coat over the optimum with permanon Or gtechniq as To add durability gloss and slickness to the opti coat?

Because to me I love the durability of opti coat but it doesn't feel like any of the DoDo Fuzion or other nice waxes. I figured investing into coating these two cars is worth it as they are driven mostly every day and plan to be around for quite some time. And I'll be doing what ever coating before the paint protection film goes on the front end.
Thanks for insight, and please only comment if you have used these products.
Appreciate it,
Alex

AutoHeed
07-19-2013, 12:15 PM
Aquartz PPF + Titanium might be just the thing.

PPF is the foundation/primer. Titanium is the second layer for the slickness and water beading/sheeting.

Topping with same products might work. I've seen some detailers do that.

octane
07-19-2013, 01:03 PM
I've had good success with sonax polymer net shield over OC2.0, amazing beading, slick and seems to last pretty well considering it's on top of a coating.

I've also used Hydro2, but was not impressed with the durability on top oc OC2.0, was better on top of Cquartz...

AeroCleanse
07-19-2013, 01:13 PM
GTechniq C1, but the Modesta BC-05 looks interesting.

silverfox
07-19-2013, 01:27 PM