PDA

View Full Version : How many times can you buff?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

sportscarhiatus
11-06-2009, 07:49 PM
Ok folks, I've been having discussions here at work with some of my friends who detail a lot as well. The discussion centers around this theme:

Given a brand new vehicle, if using a DA (say a PC), and let's say M205/M105-LC white pad, LC gray pad to remove swirls, how many times could a person perform that task before they wear through the clear coat?

Obviously, when you're buffing, you're removing paint. I know the answer to the question above depends on the kind of paint, how thick is it, etc etc... but just assume an average... Just want to know your estimates. How much can a new vehicle's paint withstand? 10 sessions? 5 sessions? 50 sessions?

Pie
11-06-2009, 08:41 PM
Wondering about that myself, noob here.

loudog2
11-06-2009, 09:19 PM
This is why you use the least aggressive method first. Lots of people want to go right to M105 which is a compound. Give 205 by itself a try, or even menzerna power finish. With proper wash technique you should not need to polish all the time. For my twice a year polish I use 85RD, and maybe bump it up to 106FA. Last time I used dodo lime prime because the paint was fine.

TheGLL
11-06-2009, 09:41 PM
This is why you use the least aggressive method first. Lots of people want to go right to M105 which is a compound. Give 205 by itself a try, or even menzerna power finish. With proper wash technique you should not need to polish all the time. For my twice a year polish I use 85RD, and maybe bump it up to 106FA. Last time I used dodo lime prime because the paint was fine.

Really interesting post, thanks.:props:

The purpose to use something like Menzerna PO203S and after Menz Final Polish PO85RD.
PO85RD is used to clean the paint after a more intensive polish so the paint will be perfect for a sealant and wax ... am I right ?

christian900se
11-06-2009, 10:19 PM