autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

wet sand and correction with Flex3401?

Haven't posted much but i look to this forum for advice and opinions. I am building a '29 Model A Roadster into a hot rod. This was a ground up build and finally after 4 years, I painted all the sheet metal and am getting ready to assemble. Prior to assembly, i am wet sanding and buffing all the parts and body separately. The car is painted PPG Race Red base with 3 coats of PPG Concept high solids clear topcoat. I have polished and buffed many cars, but this is my first attempt at wet sanding to remove orange peel. I wanted to try the least aggressive approach, so my procedure is:
    1) wet sand with Meguiars 1000 Unigrit until almost smooth.
    2) wet sand diagonal pattern across 1000 grit pattern with 2000 Unigrit
    3) wet sand opposite diagonal pattern from above with 3000.
    4) Meguiars 105 and orange pad on Flex3401, speed at 6
    5) Meguiars 205 and white pad also speed 6
    This seems to be giving good results, but there is little sunlight this time of year for a good outdoor inspection. It does look good under flourescent shop lights. Am I going to be disappointed when i get this car out in the sunlight? Are there better products that i should use? I am not opposed to using a rotary, but if the DA works i would rather not risk burning through. Thanks

In time out
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: wet sand and correction with Flex3401?

Would love to do that to my father in laws 29 Tudor.

I'll address the buffing part.