autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Help???What new products and process for a newb

What “ 3 step process” to use
    So I usually just do a weekly wash, wax monthly and clay quarterly. ANything i should be doing more often or less frequently?

I'm new to this machine application thing and have always done everything by hand. To be honest it is getting real old and it also gets time consuming when you do more than wash and wax, even that is time consuming some times. So I went out and bought a Porter Cable 7424. I will be taking care of three used vehicles and one new vehicle. Now I have some questions. I have never sealed the paint so I don’t know when in the order of things to apply it and what brand to use, I would think after claying and applying a paint cleaner and paint polisher but before any waxing, correct? Is cleaning and polishing really necessary for a new car, can I just clay the vehicle then apply sealent and wax or should I at least clean the paint?

On the used vehicles I would think it would be necessary to clean and polish before applying sealent, correct? Also does cleaning and polishing the paint cut into the clear coat (from what I read it seems like it would ) and if so how often should it be done? Also would it be necessary to wash the vehicle again after claying to ensure removal of all of the claying spray/lubricant used before applying other products?

What kind of cure time does the sealent need or does it usually vary from product to product?

What kind of cure time do waxes need?