autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Which product do i need to remove the hazing?

Hello,

I would like to know which product and foam pad do i need to use to remove the holograms that is produced by the rotary?

I have DACP #83 and speed glaze #80, I removed the swirls with the soft buff pad w7000 and i followed it with a polishing pad using #80 but i think some of the holograms is still there. Do i need to replace #80 with other product that is more aggressive to remove the holograms?

This is my first attempt to remove swirls and i used Makita 9227c since we don't have porter cables available here.

Mike Phillips

Re: Which product do i need to remove the hazing?

This issue and question comes up all the time, in fact, just like you've posted it.

Someone had the same problem about a week ago, so instead of re-typing what I already suggested, hang tight for a few seconds and I'll find the thread.

Mike Phillips

Here you go,

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/...holograms.html

Please take a moment to read through the above thread and my replies and explanations.

The nutshell answer is you either will need to get some kind of DA style polisher to get away from the direct-drive rotation of the rotary buffer.

Switch to a different finishing polish, M80 Speed Glaze does not finish out swirl-free very well using only a rotary buffer. Try M205 instead.

Rub the paint out by hand using something like the M205 or even SwirlX, again you need to get away from the rotating action of the rotary buffer. Please note all the reasons why as I listed them specifically in the link I provided.

Hope this helps...

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you Mike,