autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

can i apply different sealants?

i'm new to detailing, recently clayed and applied groits garage sealant on my qx56, can a put a coat of klasse sealant on top of the groits sealant? thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: can i apply different sealants?

I haven't tried that, but I don't see the point of putting one sealant over another...once the finish is sealed, what good is the second sealant...especially different brands that might or might not be compatible? Maybe the visual depth of the finish may improve, but I don't see where it's protection has.

I use Griot's Paint Sealant and find it a great product. I've taken to using it on my family's daily drivers. Even they say to top it with a quality carnauba if you like.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Gunslinger, have you ever tried multiple coats of the griots sealant? I was thinking 2 coats of griots sealant followed by griots best of show carnuba wax.

Post Thanks / Like

I haven't tried a second coat of Griot's Paint Sealant over the first. It looks too good after one coat I see no purpose in it. I will use Griot's Spray Wax after each washing.

On two of my fun cars, where durability isn't an issue for me, I use a base coat of Griot's Carnauba Wax Stick topped by Griot's Best of Show Wax...great, great results. On the third car, which is Torch Red, I use a base coat of Carnauba Wax Stick topped with Pinnacle Souveran...even better than when I used Best of Show Wax. As good as Best of Show is, the Souveran is even more spectacular on red.

Post Thanks / Like