autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

will flex DA work for wet sanding?

I just painted my 91 Goldwing jet black with a black base coat and followed with a clear coat. I have very slight orange peel. I plan to follow up with some light wet sanding to smooth the surface. Will the flex DA work for polishing out the sanding marks? I was thinking of the PC however I've been told that it's most likely not agressive enough. I'm also looking at the Flex circular polisher however given that I'm new at this I'm apprehensive about going to aggressive. If it takes me a little longer with the Flex DA and I can get the same results I'm fine with that. I just don't want to ruin a good paint job and have to repaint. Also what compounds, polishes, waxes do you recommend?

PS...I'm going to use 2000 grit for the wetsanding. As stated my orange peel is very light. I don't even notice it unless I look at the panels at an angle with light. Looking at it straight on even with light I barley notice it.

Thanks

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: will flex DA work for wet sanding?

well I just found out that I can't use the 4" pads on the Flex DA polisher. What a bumer. This is a must as there are a lot of small areas I want to work in to. Looks like I'll be going for the Flex circular polisher. Any feedback on this unit? Would still appreciate some suggestions on compounds, polish, sealers, waxes, etc. Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like