autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Collinite 915 oily holograms after wipe off

Hey everyone,
    Im fairly new to detailing, only started a couple of years ago when I purchased my very first brand new car. It's a black 2014 Mitsubishi Lancer, annoying because every defect is visible from a mile away, bit the look of well maintained black paint is outstanding! I live in Australia, so I needed a wax that could stand up to our extremely harsh summers that easily reach 40 celcius or about 104F+... I read about how great collinite waxes were at standing up to adverse conditions, watched a lot of videos that showed the great shine and water beading you get with these waxes. I gave in and bought myself a tin of 915. These are the steps I took before waxing:
    1. wash with megs soft wash gel
    2. Clayed with clay magic fine grade clay bar
    3. Used ultimate polish with a DA to remove micro marring from the previous clay step
    4. Used 915 as my LSP.
    Applied it THIN (at least to what my perception of thin is) the wax was spread out so thin that the film could just be seen, made sure there was no buildup of wax in one spot, let it haze and wiped off.