autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Cleaning Leather Seats

I'm still new to detailing and have never heard of the term "over glorified shoe shine boy" before however, having seen it three times today I thought I would share how I've been cleaning my interior fire the last year for some feedback. Maybe it's a great idea, maybe it's stupid, but it send to work.

First off, I clean with Lexol Cleaner and have been using Surf City Garage "Voodoo" Leather Conditioner as products. However, to apply them, I guess I have been an over glorified shoe-shine boy because I use shoe-shine brushes, lol.

I dose the the cleaner brush with Lexol and then mist the surface and scrub it into a foam and wipe it clean with a dry microfiber cloth. I do this to all the leather in the car and then, starting over, mist it down again very lightly to rewet it and wipe it dry a second time to get any remaining dirt.

Then, using the conditioner, I saturate the other brush and then squeeze a bead onto the leather and buff it in that way as well until all the leather has been worked before finishing it all of by buffing off any excess with another clean microfiber cloth.

It seems to me, at least in my own simple mind, that it lifts and exposes the natural grain of the leather more than using just a microfiber cloth, which seems to flatten it out, and does a much better job at cleaning and conditioning the creases and seams.

So, I guess, at least when it comes to my seats, I am just a shoe-shine boy. I'm about to start on that very project in the morning so I will take some pictures but what say you all? Good idea or just extra effort without merit?

Lucky Joe,