autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

RIDS in 80's GM Clear Coat??? How to Solve???

Hello – hope someone can share some insight on my issue J

I’m a newbie to detailing at this extensive level, pretty much just been a wash and hand wax person all my life. Paint correction to me has just been minor scratches where I’ve used 3M Hand Glaze. I’ve basically had new vehicles, so I’ve never had to deal with much though. So please go easy on me!!!!

I bought an ’85 Riviera from an estate last summer with 23k miles on it, original owner, lived in Columbus OH all its life. Paint is overall in good shape for the age (i.e. no rust, dents, pealing etc), except for surface scratches, I believe they are just in the clear coat as I can’t feel them with my fingernail. Hand glaze took some of the fog from oxidation out, but I thought it could be better after I found Autogeek. I think the couple that had it kept it waxed really well, as it beaded heavily still. I don’t think they did much with it in the past 5-8 years, it was garaged though with no windows.

So I first clayed it, after seeing all the videos and write-ups here. I’m now a believer in the clay process !!!! Couldn’t believe how much was on the surface that I couldn’t feel with my bare hand. Will always clay a vehicle before any type of wax or sealer again!!!