autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Carpro Darkside; blotchy, streaky??

I'm an amateur detailer, as my other posts have indicated, and I thought dressing the new rubber would be simple.
    Tires were cleaned with straight Brake Buster, drill brush, Tarminator, then inside to dry.
    Applied Darkside to one tire with a foam waffle type tire applicator. Worked it in, ver and over. It seemed blotchy, some spots seemed to dry instantly. Left it sit for 10 minutes, wiped it with a mf cloth. It looked awful. streaky, blotchy, etc.

Left it for an hour, tried a second layer, made it worse. Tried a second tire, applied it a bit heavier for better coverage, then waited and levelled it. Not much better.

1) did I not apply enough and that's why some spots looked dry instantly?

2) not working it in properly?

Reviews on all sites praise this product, so it must be me.

I guess to remedy the 2 tires I did, I'll have to wait until it wears off as I wash the car a few times.

Your experiences please. Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Carpro Darkside; blotchy, streaky??

You should be able to strip with straight BB use drill brush to be safe. Not a fan of DarkSide as I felt it never payed quite even but I would not have called it blotchy. How many passes did you do during cleaning? You Mr suppose to do till tires comes up white and I through in one after for good measure.

What brand of tire?

Don’t need a ton of arm pressure let towel do work. Go around car on all for tires then start second coat from where you started.