autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mike Phillips

Boot Camp Demo Cars!

Boot Camp Demo Cars!

I always try to have a good mix of cool cars and normal transportation type cars here at our detailing boot camp classes for a great overall experience plus memories that will last a lifetime.

One of the most common comments I hear from people that attend these classes goes like this,

"I've never worked on a street rod before"

Or...

I've never worked on a classic like this before"

And there's a lot of reasons why people say these kinds of things but the point is to have fun cars to work on for the incredibly wide variety of tools you get to work with here at Autogeek.

First up is this 1986 Porsche 911 SC Cabriolet with a Turbo Wide Body Slantnose conversion and boxed rockers. How cool is this to get to work on?

This car has the normal swirls, water spots and scratches and needs to be de-contaminated. The leather interior needs to be addressed as does the convertible top.

This will also be our candidate car for Detailer's Paint Coating.

Mike Phillips

Re: Boot Camp Demo Cars!

Next up is a 2002 Tahoe daily driver with the original neglected basecoat/clearcoat finish.

I try to find neglected daily drivers that sit outside that we can use IronX on because IF there is any type of iron particle contamination in the paint then WHITE paint shows the level of contamination best and how to safely remove it.

The bigger picture we point out in the class is that if white cars are contaminated then all cars are contaminated it's just with darker colored cars it's harder for the human eye to see the iron dissolving process taking place.