autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Advice needed about getting my Jaguar ready for Concours

I am a newbie here and also to detailing in general.

My car is a 1994 Jaguar XJS in British Racing Green that I have owned since new. The car is completely original including the paint and has always been garaged. I have entered several concours in the driven class and the car has shown well. Now I would like to get the car ready to campaign in the championship class and I know I have to step up my game!!

The paint is in decent shape but there are some scratches and water/bird droppings/tree sap that I could not get off by claying of applying ultimate polish by hand. The paint surface is very smooth but it seems the blemishes are etched into the clearcoat. So I bought a GG6 DA and plan to do the following.

After washing and claying again, apply WG SR 3.0 with an orange CCS pad then WG finishing glaze with white pad and M21 with blue pad. I may follow that with Souveran wax. If the SR does not get all the blemishes out, I was thinking of using M105. Is this a sensible approach? Also if I have to use the M105 would I just apply it to the blemished area or the whole panel/car?

Here are a few pics of the car and affected areas. (sorry about the quality, wasn't sure how big the files could be)

Thanks,
    Allan

This my car
    Advice needed about getting my Jaguar ready for Concours-pkway1-jpg

This shows some typical scratches and the worst of the etched blemishes in the lower left area.
    Advice needed about getting my Jaguar ready for Concours-paint-jpg

This shows some more scratches and water stains.