autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Do you use different pads for different color vehicles?

Say you were detailing a light colored vehicle and you went with the following using the LC hexlogic chart:
    Orange - compound
    White - polish
    Black - sealer/wax

Would there be a need to change it up for a black vehicle to get a better finish?
    Orange - compound
    White - polish
    Green - glaze
    Blue - sealant
    Black - wax

My thought behind this is I am a woodworker and when sanding you start course and progress to finest and DO NOT skip grits. Been out of the detailing scene for a while and with all the pads and products out there now, it is mindblowing!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Do you use different pads for different color vehicles?

•Regardless the paint system (SS;
    BC/CC): You’re only working on the
    top-coat of paint-film.

•Buffing pads are fabricated to abrade
    paint in a prescribed manner.

With that in mind:
    -I never saw the need to use different pads
    for different top-coat paint-film colors of SS
    paint systems.

-That’s even more true with BC/CC paint
    systems as you’re only dealing with the
    CC paint film, which by self-definition, is
    considered to be “un-colored”—i.e.: clear.
    (“Tinted” clears contain a complementary,
    role-playing ‘color’.)

•Bottom line:
    -The best method, IMO, to find out which
    pads are needed to perform the entire buffing
    process—from the beginning to the end—still
    remains the proverbial “Test Spot”.

Bob
    "Be wary of the man who urges an action in which he himself incurs no risk."
    ~Joaquin de Setanti

3. Likes pittpens24 liked this post
    Mike Phillips

No.