autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Help with picking pads

I can use some help picking out 5.5" pads for PC DA. I am new to the DA (only had an orbital before) so I have no idea what to get? At first I bought the deluxe 6.5 ccs package but have been told I don't want a pad that big, that I really want 5.5" pad with 5" backing plate. So then I thought maybe just a compound, a polish and a wax pad. Then reading more, it sound like the more the better (to switch out). I kind of have it narrowed down to LC flat (because of $$) and the LC thin. I want to be able to play around with my cars and my family's when I have time (which isn't much at all). For a beginner to have a variety is a 6 pack enough to play with and if so, which combination? If not 6, but 12, what combination as well? Also, which particular pad? I was leaning towards flat over thin because of price (would like to keep it as low as possible in case it just gets thrown on a shelf) but if the thin is that much better then that's what I will get. Also, is there 5.5" besides LC that I should be looking at?

Basically wanting a good variety to play with and the best bang for the $.
    Thanks in advance!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Help with picking pads

price is a factor for me as well. never mind that i spend countless dollars on stuff i don't really need.

You can't go wrong with either LC option. i'm still using the flats quite a bit, to be honest with you. I have thins, but not nearly as many as regular flats.