autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Finishing glaze - how large is working area each time ?

I'm compounding my black '11 Miata w Uber and Orange LC flat pads. I try to do no larger than a 1.5 X 1.5 ft. area w Uber. (Sometime even smaller). What size/how large are your passes for Finishing Glaze ? Actually I think this is my first time using it. I have a small, low-volume biz. I'll likely be using white LC flat pads. Very little marring with Uber, even w orange pads... which is why I love it.

Oh, my steps in this process are in order: wet car, Tarminator, foam wash/1 bucket, dry, BF Iron X, dry, clay (real bar), test spot, Wg Uber, WG FG, WG DGPS, P21S Carnauba (after 12 hour dwell on DGPS).

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Finishing glaze - how large is working area each time ?

I found instructions that say 2X2 ft.area. Anyone going larger than that ?

Post Thanks / Like

This is a pretty subjective question.

Many factors to consider like temperature, humidity, etc.

Are you asking because you are experiencing problems?

The 2'x2' "suggestion" is pretty common across most lines of products (liquids) used to machine correct. IMO, it is to kind of "idiot-proof" it so that Ol' Bubba doesn't correct the entire car, have problems removing it, and then write a review of how "THIS IS THE WORST PRODUCT EVER!!"

That said, it is kind of your call on how much area to correct in one section. It could be less than 2'x2', or more.
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

4. Likes Paul A. liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

I treat it just like a polish and work in 2 x 2 sections or smaller. I like to make sure that I can wipe away the residue before it dries up.