autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

help with pads....maybe a stupid question but...

hey sooo this might be a stupid question but i am new to DA machines...so what i am wondering is i have a meguiars 8 inch buff pad (i have the burgundy cutting and the tan finishing) 8 inches is a lil big for what i am trying to do the 6 1/2 fit a lil beter but i think 6 or 5 1/2 would be even better...so my question is has any one ever cut a pad to make it smaller..the only thing i see that would make it hard is keeping it in a perfect circle. but with the meguiars pads if you flip it over the "label/backing area" (velcro part) does not come all the way to the edge its like a inch in from the edge all the way around so that would cut 2 inches off the diameter and i was thinking i could use the backing (velcro) area as a guide to keep it in a circle. i know some people might laugh at this but i cannot find ANY smaller pads any where locally and i am tring to do this before the amount time it would take to order them....any thoughts would help.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: help with pads....maybe a stupid question but...

I'd say you're better off just buying the right size pads. Not worth risking the pad failing while your working on the car.
    Former professional detailer. Current medical student (class of 2023)

2017 Infiniti Q60 3.0t AWD

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by conman1395 View Post
    I'd say you're better off just buying the right size pads. Not worth risking the pad failing while your working on the car.