autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Wet sand new clear coat

Hello everyone - I'm new to the board and new to the business. I just opened a paint shop that specializes in refinishing race bicycles. Lots of carbon and high end steel and aluminum. Needless to say, there are lots of compound curves that I need to work on.
    As I am new to painting, I do have a bit more overspray and orange peel in my clearcoat that I need to level and buff out. I've been searching the forums and doing things on my own and found that a small orbital is the right tool in many situations (I'm getting pretty good using 1500/2000/3000 to wet sand) but what compounds should I be using along with 3" pads? Meguires 105/205 and then a swirl free polish to finish? There will be instances where I will to do it by hand as well but I'm just curious as I have no idea which pads to use.

Thanks,

Bob

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Wet sand new clear coat

Sounds like you've answered all your own questions

The only thing I would ad (which I'm sure you already know) is to be especially careful around the corners/edges

I would like to see of your work if possible (custom bikes)

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

What pads or brands of pads would you recommend?

Mike Phillips

Hi Bob,

Definitely get a Griot's Garage 3" Mini Polisher and use it as a dampsander...

Lots of pictures and links to the tool, pads, sanding discs etc that you'll want and need.

Griot's 3" Mini Polisher works great as a 3" Dampsander

Dampsanding with 3" Griot's Garage Mini Polisher