autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I messed up...

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I messed up...

Hey there...new here...

I've been working on the paint correction of my Ruby Red F150 for about 6 months and although I'm fairly new to paint correction, I feel like I've been doing well with the wet sanding/polishing out scratches and minor defects in my paint...up until this past weekend. I was about to start polishing the rear passenger bed panel when I noticed a small gouge in the coat like a pin was taken and jabbed in. I didn't think it was too deep but not something even an aggressive polish could remove, so I went over it with a 5000 grit pad like I usually do for light scratches, but it still didn't blend in with the first couple of passes. It was something I never encountered before and I became impatient and upped the speed and ended up with a patch of discoloration and I wasn't quite sure what it was. I thought maybe it would go away if I polished it over, but nope.

I messed up...-132103807_136199458273938_4955567008490794409_n-jpgI messed up...-131978414_324003658643901_8400167167251360666_n-jpg

After doing a bunch of research, I guess I burned the clear? The pictures don't show the slight bubbling around the edges of the patch and the camera on my S10+ is incapable of taking pictures as if it were through my eyes.

So my question is...how would a body shop properly fix this and how much do you think it would cost? Are they going to have to sand down and repaint the affected area then clear the whole panel? Or can they just isolate? I just want to know what I should be expecting if I were to take it to a pro.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: I messed up...