autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Need advice to remove 2000 grit sanding marks

I’m new to polishing and probably a little to ambitious. I decided to wet sand my custom painted ram 3500 quad cab long bed truck. I started with 2000 grit on my porter cable. I tried using 6 inch, but just wasn’t getting good rotation. So I did most of it in 3 inch...that’s a lot or real estate to cover. I then followed up with 3000. Now I am using a DeWalt rotary and a wool cutting pad with Meguiars m100 to compound. I’m having a heck of a time getting the sanding marks out. Usually taking 4- 6 tries. I’m moving the machine slightly faster than I would an orbital in roughly a 2x2 making about 6 section passes. I’ve watched several videos and read posts about rotarys and I feel I’m getting the hang of it, but open to any pointers.

I am getting wore out going over the same section multiple times.... I’ve also tried Meguiars 105, with similar results, but like 100 better. I just switched to 3m advanced rubbing compound and I think it works better for removing the scratches, but definitely more dusty and certainly doesn’t finish as nice. Im running low on the 3m and thought about trying a different product?

Any tips or advice, or just suck it up and keep using m100?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Need advice to remove 2000 grit sanding marks-d0954d03-bfe8-478a-89a6-4cd7f6530ec4-jpg  

Mike Phillips

Re: Need advice to remove 2000 grit sanding marks

Wow!

Hats off to you for tackling such an arduous project. Especially if you've never wetsanded before.

Here's your truck in full size

It sounds like you're doing everything right.