autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Removing swirls from hard paint

I'm by no means an expert, but usually have very good results removing swirls with the following products and the recommended AG methods. Just purchased a 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe in white and ran my GG 6" DA over the paint with CG V36 with Orange pad then followed with CG V38 with White pad to remove some light-to-medium swirls. I've always had good results, but the process didn't remove all of the swirls so I'm guessing the paint is on the 'hard' side compared to previous vehicles I've corrected. I'm at a loss whether I should use a stronger compound like V34 or switch to a microfiber cutting pad and re-do the steps above.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Removing swirls from hard paint

Were you using a larger 6" pad? Thick pad or thin pad? How was the GG unit in terms of speed of rotation? I ask as thicker pads 6" in size perhaps lack of rotation and correction was an issue. Did you put a hash mark on the backing plate and monitor the rotation?

Not sure if the newer Santa Fe's have hard paint or not but one thing that comes to mind is just the rotation and correction of the unit as you worked.
    2019 Pearl White Accord 2.0T Touring (mine)
    Snowflake Pearl White CX-30 Turbo Premium Plus(wife)
    2010 Urban Platinum Metallic CRV EX-L & 2014 Mica Black Metallic Toyota Corolla S (kids)

Post Thanks / Like