autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Post Q&A Session: Best way(s) to apply Ultima Paint Guard Plus

Fellow (and future) users of Ultima series products:

After working with Premium Finish Care's Ultima PGP sealant for a few weeks, I decided to try to get some answers to my questions about ideal application procedures not entirely addressed in the UPGP faq. I am an enthusiast with no professional affiliations in this realm. I've found this product to have excellent value, but good results require more specific conditions than some more typical general use sealants and waxes. Hopefully this will be useful to others looking to get the most of their investment in UPGP. My comments/observations are in (...), responses are in red.

Rick Vaal, Co-owner/formulator for Premium Finish Care, offered these responses to my questions:

Question 1)
    What are the ideal temperature and humidity ranges for the correct curing of UPGP? (I have had some difficulty achieving proper flattening and curing to a crystal finish under temperatures of 55 degrees f. The UPGP seems to be more temperature sensitive than many other paint sealants I have worked with, and a proper cure it critical to the end result.)
    Answer: Yes, Ultima Paint Guard Plus is sensitive to cooler temperatures (50f or below) as well as a high humidity climate. In some cases for both situations, after 30 minutes you may need to wipe the excess off using a clean dry microfiber towel. Ideal temperatures are between 60 and 85 degrees Fahrenheit and no wiping is needed if the correct amount is used.

Question 2) How can you obtain excellent swirl filling with UPGP?