autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Junior Member Mike@DistinctImage's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

DA downward pressure - how much is enough?

Hi everyone,

Been searching through the forums trying to find out how much downward pressure is required to achieve swirl removal by da polisher and am having no luck. I am relatively new to DA polishing and have watched many how-to videos, all have helped me to get swirls out but I still feel unsure as to how much downward pressure to apply when polishing. Is there any trick to help with this?

Thanks

Mike

Post Thanks / Like

Re: DA downward pressure - how much is enough?

When I started (not that long ago actually) I read that 5 lbs was about the right amount of pressure, and the way you learn this is to place the machine on a bathroom scale, read it's weight, and then apply 5 more lbs of pressure. And practice this for a little while till you get to know what 5 lbs feels like and can reproduce it at will.

Now it gets a bit trickier doing side (vertical) panels, like doors and such, because it feels different to apply pressure sideways. But with practice you'll get it.

Post Thanks / Like

I started off under machine weight under advice from Mothers forum, however, through this forum have found (and gotten much better results) with 15-20 lbs of force. Depends on the pad you are using and how much it deforms.

Mike Phillips

You vary the pressure depending upon what you're trying to do...

If you're trying to remove swirls and scratches then you're trying to remove a little paint in an effort to flatten or level out the surface.