autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: edit time limit

Post Thanks / Like

edit time limit

i've been an admin on a couple forums, one a smaller niche car forum and the other is one of the largest automotive forums on the web.

in 16 plus years of this sort of activity, i've never felt a need to institute a time limit on post edits. i am perplexed as to why AG insists on using one??

it's most annoying when updates are needed and you can't edit the first post of an inquiry thread with an update. yes, you can post and update instead of editing the initial post but if it's relatively high traffic, your reply will get lost, then you will keep checking the thread when you see activity only to realize it's because people don't realize you updated and they are still replying to your initial inquiry.

contacting staff for edits is not efficient, trust me.
    '09 Mercedes-Benz C 63 AMG / '14 Audi Q5 3.0 S-Line / '99.5 Pathfinder SE

I DO NOT support or recommend Oakes.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: edit time limit

I completely agree! The edit time limit wastes bandwidth and causes new readers of a thread to have to read through pages of reply posts just to get the Op's entire message. For this reason I skip many posts that I would otherwise become involved in.

Post Thanks / Like

I am so glad that I'm a satisfied member of this fantastic forum...
    and its: "rules of engagement"!!

However...
    For other members, at times, (and for whatever reasons):
    It appears to be that they:

[ame="http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ROAKlnaMuRw"]ROLLING STONES "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" on The Ed Sullivan Show - YouTube[/video]

Bob