autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Rupes Maintenance

Hello,

I've been using the Flex VRG for about 5 years now and considered switching tools. Had the MK2 21 and the G21 in my sights, planned on using the 5inch backing plate because I have a lot of 5inch flat and MF pads.

Recently I read that you need to oil the backing plate on the Rupes every 15-20 hours? Is this true? I would basically have to do this 2-3 times per week. My flex hasn't been touched other then light cleaning once / year since I bought it and it's running great.

Super Member Joe@NextLevelDetail's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rupes Maintenance

If you don't use the washer mod you need to keep the plate lubricated because the plate rubs against the rubber shroud slowing rotation.

The washer mod spaces the plate from the shroud making no contact and you don't need lubricate the plate.

Also you can swap the 5 inch plate on either the G21 or the Mark 2 21.

However you are going to sacrifice smoothness while doing so.

Either 21 with the 6 inch is so smooth and my prefrence.

If you prefer the 5 inch plate go with the G15 or the mark 2 15

But you can still swap the plates I'm just giving my 02. Cents

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks,

I had the pleasure of using the G21 with a 5inch plate for a week, it must have already had the washer mod installed. Took me about a day to learn the technique and really I don't want to go back to the Flex. While the correction was about the same, maybe a bit better and quicker on softer paints the most important thing for me was not being tired after a full days of correction.