autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Gel Coat Oxidization Removal - How much to charge?

Gel Coat Oxidization Removal - How much to charge?

I've been asked to quote on what the owner feels will be a basic polish on a 27 foot boat. The owner says that it isn't badly oxidized and won't need compounding so I gave him a ballpark quote based on this. It's been kept under a roof most summers and stored inside off season.

I'll be seeing the boat in person this week I believe. I've never done a boat before.

Do you think it will need compounding? I'll provide more info (age etc) of boat when I know more. I don't know the 'rules of thumb' for boats. How can I judge when I first look - without a test spot - so I can tell my customer more accurately how much I need to charge.

If you compound a boat, do you normally follow up with a dual action to clean it up some more like a car? I'm guessing the same rules apply.

Everything I've read is telling me that my Flex 3401 isn't enough? If it can be done with the 3401, what will make it fastest and best.

Is it much different doing a boat, I can see it may be more of a pain in tight areas.

I'm guessing 2 days work for this - am I close?

I probably have many more questions, so feel free to make suggestions regarding pads, cutting and polish recommendations etc etc.

Thank,

Doug

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Correcting oxidized gelcoat

When they say it will not need compounding thaat's a sure clue it will need compounding. I'd suggest having a RB and wool pads in your arsenal as recommended.

Post Thanks / Like