autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boat detailing?

Post Thanks / Like

Boat detailing?

A buddy of mine wants me to detail his boat. I have never done a boat before. As far as polishing, would I go about it just like polishing car paint? Can I buy any OTC marine specific protection products? Any tips?

'03 Corvette Z06

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Boat detailing?

Turn and RUN

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by 07 z-oh-6 View Post
    A buddy of mine wants me to detail his boat. I have never done a boat before. As far as polishing, would I go about it just like polishing paint? Can I buy any OTC marine specific protection products? Any tips?

Find out how big it is?
    Does he want inside or outside detailed or both?
    If he wants outside, what is the condition of the finish?
    If they want the inside detailed, what condition is it in?

Best thing to do is to go look at it first hand and find out what he wants and what his expectations are and then decide if this is the type of detailing project you want.

Post Thanks / Like

Boats can really turn into nightmare work. As Mike said, look it over very closely. If you decide to take on the job, buddy or not, hold your price. Much of the time marine specialty products are not needed.

Tons of moldy upholstery or a fishing rig covered with dried fish blood? Might be none of the above but DO look it over.
    Rick....now in North Texas

Post Thanks / Like