autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Spray-on sealant (CarPro Hydro2) vs. "conventional" sealant

Hi guys,
    I've used Blackfire's Wet Diamond All Finish Paint Protection for a few years on our vehicles with excellent results. I love the ease of application & the results are impressive. Although it seems they've been out for a few years, I only recently became aware of "spray on" sealants (such as CarPro's Hydro2 Touchless Silica Sealant) & am curious about them. I'm not a professional detailer by any means, but would still love to save some time when detailing our daily drivers. Just curious about people's experience with this class of products in terms of (1) ease of application, (2) gloss/shine effect, (3) longevity. Also, just curious if there is any advantage to adding a wax as an LSP at the end. I often apply Blackfire Midnight Sun wax over the sealant for extra gloss & was wondering if I could do the same after the Hydro2? Thanks!

Cheers,

Zune

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Spray-on sealant (CarPro Hydro2) vs. "conventional" sealant

I've used Hydr02 and it can't get any easier than that. We own a Dodge mini van and waxing that thing is time and labor intensive so a spray on sealant was a perfect choice. Took less than 15 minutes to do the whole vehicle.

Although water beading was instant and it was protected, I don't remember it lasting more than a few months. And there was no perceivable added gloss.