autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Detailing a customers car at home vs. a self wash car wash

Hello everyone! (i'm new to the forum)

Background: I'm currently a college student and decided i would detail cars on the side for money. Most of the time, I pick up clients cars from their work or house (if they leave nearby) and bring it to my house to work on it.

Concern: I am located in California so I am aware of our water shortage problem. I try and use as little water as possible when i detail a car, however, i manage to use a lot of water even with conscious effort. Near my house is a self wash car wash place with a pressure washer hose and everything you would need for $3 for 5 minutes. I like to maintain high-integrity with my quality of work, but also would like to lower the cost of my water bill. If I brought the car to the self wash place, but only used the pressurized washer and bring my own shampoo and mitts, would that be a good idea?

Thanks a lot!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Detailing a customers car at home vs. a self wash car wash

Your idea would work fine. Another option is investing in a rinseless wash like Optimum No Rinse which will aid you in your water conservation.

Optimum No Rinse (ONR) Essentials Wash Kit

If the car is super dirty then you will either have to wash it with a traditional soap and bucket or rinse off the heavy dirt and then follow up with an ONR wash.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like