autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

1968 Pro-tour Camaro - AG team effort

I am a newbie here. Came for help detailing my Camaro for a car show. Want to personally thank each and everyone one of you who posted up to help me pull this detail off.

Quick rundown of the stats for all you car buffs:
    572 BBC- 742HP/689TQ

Tremec 6-speed magnum trans

Currie 9" rear with 4:11's and Detroit Locker posi unit

Aftermarket subframe with tubular a-arms and QA1 coilovers, frame connectors and a mini tubbed 4 link setup with QA1 coilovers out back

Wilwood manual disc brakes on all 4 corners - 6 piston up front and 4 piston rear plumbed with stainless steel brake lines throughout
    275x18 Toyo tires on 18x9.5 Boze Splitters up front chased by 335x18's on 18x12's

Frame off resto done in my garage with exception of body prep and paint

Custom interior built by me and upholstered professionally

Onto the details about the detailing:

Had issues blowing a water pump rear gasket on the race pump. Dumped out almost 4 gallons in about 20 seconds so you could imagine the mess - have a cowl induction hood so not only was the engine bay and entire bottom of the car covered, so was the windshield, roof etc.
    Obliviously was towed home which resulted scratches on my $5000 wheels from the straps and an off load in my driveway around midnight. Washed the car in the dark with a 2 bucket system to the best of my ability, dried and put on the lift where it sat for 2 months working out the new pump and radiator/shroud/fan setup collecting dust.

Cleaned the entire bottom of the car including wheel wells with DuPont First Klean to remove antifreeze traces and oil residue