autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: In-Progress: 1986 Porsche 951 (Guards Red)

Roof is coming out well for what it's been through!
    Scott Harle
    Autodermatology
    #autodermatology

Post Thanks / Like

I simply can't believe that "I" am able to make such a change on this car. I am not a professional, I don't have the best tools and I don't have any professional training.
    The forum member Dog Lover has a great tag-line, something to the affect; The Titanic was built by professionals and The Arc was built by a hobbyist.. Your doing an amazing job!!

The roof looks great!

I know you've been using UC up until this point, you stated you were going to go over the car one more time with UC? IMO, I would use 205. The polishing oils in 205 are amazing, and Porche's love 205!

Can't wait to see this in daylight!

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I know, this update seems like cheating... But I needed an easy day today. Decided to clean the rear glass. Wiped it down and washed it. It still felt like sandpaper! Went over it with the clay bar and it worked like a charm. Slick and smooth! Then I did a pass with the Ultimate Compound to get any old water spots off, etc... WOW. It's 30+ year old glass, but what a difference. I'll do a final cleaning once I get further along. I'm open for suggestions for sealers. I'd love it to be something I can use on the whole car. At the moment, I've been considering: Meguiars Ultimate liquid wax, Klasse high gloss sealant, or M21. I don't know if any of those is better than another for single stage paints. Opinions welcome!

Click the pics to see them in full size/resolution

Before:

After!