autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie single stage paint restoration

I have a 1970 Nova with single stage "black cherry" color paint. I have no idea if this is the original paint, but it is the original color, and it's in pretty bad condition. I have owned the car for twenty years and never paid much attention to the dull oxidized surface. I always assumed that if I wanted to have a show-ready car, I would have to get it repainted. But recently I came across Mike Phillip's fantastic articles on how to breathe life back into this paint. I appreciate and welcome any advice and hope sharing my ongoing experience will help others.

This is my FIRST TIME doing this. I haven't detailed my car in the twenty years I've owned it and I have ZERO experience. I studied articles online and YouTube, but I am probably not aware of all the dangers and correct/incorrect use of products. If you know a better way or see something wrong, please speak up.

The steps I plan to follow are as follows:
    (1) Strip wash the car to remove any residual wax/polish and grime
    (2) Clay bar to remove surface bonded contaminants / industrial fallout
    (3) Condition the paint with Maguiars no 7 to restore oils
    (4) Compound to remove oxidation and other deep defects
    (5) Polish to remove surface defects swirls and scratches
    (6) Wax to protect the finish

Paint Restoration: Before photos