autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question/Concerns Regarding 5th Wheel Extrior Sidewall Condition

Question/Concerns Regarding 5th Wheel Extrior Sidewall Condition

Good Morning Gang. I am not a professional detailer, simply a vehicle care enthusiast. I'm new to the forum, but not to the AG family.

In the 2 photos above you will see 2 similar 5th wheel campers. Both campers are from the same Manufacture and assembly plant, they are basically "sister brands". My trailers is on the right, the one is slightly better condition.

My unit is a 2018 Raptor, roughly 2 years old. I am concerned about what is happening in these photos. The exterior fiberglass walls are beginning to heavily oxidize, with visible lines on the trailer representing the metal/aluminum frame lines of the trailer.

Initially I thought this was an internal reaction, maybe something behind the finish. I recently hit a small test area with a Flex, Marine 31 product and the oxidation easily removed. Roughly 6 months ago, I polished and waxed with a 3m (2 in 1 product). Flex DA was used with recommended wool pad, initial results were good. I wash every couple of months and wipe dry with a Mequiares Synthetic Spray.

Long story short, for being an average consumer, I try to take care of my toys...

I have 2 questions for you guys. Keep in mind, the trailer is kept outdoors with no cover:

1. Any idea why the quick reaction to the finish? Any idea why the frame lines are affecting this?
    2. Any thoughts on a product to protect from this issue, or maybe prolong the effects?

I'm considering one of the new ceramic spray products, such as TW or Griots...