autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's
 

» Detailing Classes

New Dates Available for the Autogeek Roadshow!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member jakescakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    I have a first gen bigfoot lhr15 that sat for a year or so. I went to start it up the other day and it will not work. Tried different outlets and messing with the speed dial but no luck.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Dr Oldz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NE PA
    Posts
    4,227
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    Try to get it to oscillate by hand. Sometimes from sitting, Rust forms and doesn’t allow contact. Hand turning may get you back to making an electrical contact. WD-40 may help also.
    Jim

  3. #3
    Junior Member jakescakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Oldz View Post
    Try to get it to oscillate by hand. Sometimes from sitting, Rust forms and doesn’t allow contact. Hand turning may get you back to making an electrical contact. WD-40 may help also.
    tried that, no luck. where would I spray WD40?

  4. #4
    Senior Member PaulMys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    L.I. NY
    Posts
    6,866
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    For the money that machine cost, I'd be a little pissed.

    Maybe call Rupes customer service?
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

  5. #5
    Junior Member jakescakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulMys View Post
    For the money that machine cost, I'd be a little pissed.

    Maybe call Rupes customer service?

    Yea, I am quite ornery about the situation. Meanwhile the old porter cable that is twice as old is still chugging along. I did some digging, it looks like it would cost ME $95 to send it to Rupes for repair. That only covers some of the parts, not the middle section. I have no idea what that means or what the problem is so I'm not sure what I'm gonna do at this time.

  6. #6
    Senior Member PaulMys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    L.I. NY
    Posts
    6,866
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    Quote Originally Posted by jakescakes View Post
    Yea, I am quite ornery about the situation. Meanwhile the old porter cable that is twice as old is still chugging along. I did some digging, it looks like it would cost ME $95 to send it to Rupes for repair. That only covers some of the parts, not the middle section. I have no idea what that means or what the problem is so I'm sure what I'm gonna do at this time.
    I feel for you, man.

    Many Rupes fans, but enough complaints on breakdowns and high-dollar repairs to scare many off.

    Whenever I choose to purchase machines (electric tools, or gas powered yard equipment) I really need a solid guarantee it won't take crap on me in an unreasonably short time.
    It is no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk.

  7. Likes BSoares liked this post
  8. #7
    Senior Member The Guz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Lawndale, CA
    Posts
    6,868
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    There customer service information can be found here. They have been known to surprise people with going above and beyond repairing machines.

    Have a problem with a RUPES polisher or product?

  9. #8
    Junior Member jakescakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Rupes LHR15 no longer working?

    I have decided that I am not dumping another penny into this machine. My polisher is listed on eBay if someone is looking for a deal. Thanks for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Rupes LHR15 Mark II stall
    By ARTB155 in forum RUPES BigFoot Oribital Polishers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2018, 12:42 PM
  2. This is a new version of rupes lhr15?
    By le-brazil in forum RUPES BigFoot Oribital Polishers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 08:07 PM
  3. Picked up a Rupes LHR15
    By WRAPT C5Z06 in forum Auto Detailing 101
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-25-2014, 10:01 AM
  4. Longer working time from Powergloss?
    By jake66 in forum Auto Detailing 101
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 04:27 PM

Members who have read this thread: 28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

» July 2020

S M T W T F S
282930 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1