autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

non-professional comparison Rupes V Griot's G15

I couldn't decide which long throw DA I wanted so I bought am LHR15 MKII and a Griot's G15. My background is non-professional car care guy. I have 4-6 cars in my family I take care of and occasionally help friends with their cars. I've been detailing my own for 30+ years. My impressions for anyone who cares.

I just detailed 2 of our cars. A 06 Honda Element EX-P (maroon metallic paint) and a 2012 Toyota Prius (Dark blue metallic). Both had years of tunnel wash scratches, paint transfers from parking lot damage, etc. I used Griot's BOSS fast correcting cream, their correcting cream (Used a BOSS white pad, Rupes yellow and green) and some NXT 2.0 sealant/wax I had in my detailing bin (mostly machine applied with a black pad).

Rupes has significantly less vibration. Vibration was the main reason I wanted to update from my 10+ yr old Griots 6" DA. It worked fine, but my hands would tingle for hours after doing a car. The Rupes, with a Rupes pad or a new BOSS pad was very, very smooth for me. The G15 seemed a bit "raw" for lack of a better term. I did run the G15 for 20 minutes on 1-2 to burn it in and break the brushes in prior to use. The Rupes is a used, like new unit I bought from a local.

Ergonomics between the 2 is a tie for me. I don't see any advantage in either unit. I don't find the soft start an advantage and don't think the immediate start is an issue.

Noise...the Rupes is quieter and the noise generated is a lower frequency which is easier on my ears.