autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

Rupes Blue Foam, not cutting?

Hello, first of all, I'm new in polishing, learning how to use Rupes LHR15 Mark II everyday from morning till evening.

I have some issues (I think), but I'm not sure, my steps:

1. Clay the car.
    2. Clean the surface with CarPro Eraser.
    3. Put 4 small drops of Menzerna HC400 on the Rupes Blue Coarse Foam (for priming)
    4. Level 2 for warm up the pad and spread the compound on the surface.
    5. Put 2 more small drops of HC400, start compounding slowly. (Level 4)
    6. Put the Rupes Yellow Fine Foam pad using Rupes Keramik (Yellow) and same steps (3 4 5)

I noticed, that surface or pad doesn't get hot, just slightly warm.
    I tried to compound in the sun, and I did get better results, heat helped I guess.

Why the pad/surface is not heating up? Just slightly warm. Even HC400 is not dusting when I'm compounding in the shade, surface temperature is too low? Air temperature is only 52 °F.

Results, hood is really trashed, I polished it in direct sunlight. I guess I have to wet sand it or buy a microfiber/wool pads haha.
    Last photo looks good to me, Rupes Blue foam + HC400 for compounding, Rupes Yellow foam + Keramik for finishing.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rupes Blue Foam, not cutting?

What's wrong with the last picture? Looks like a polishing step will make it acceptable.

That scratch on outside of the taped area might be too deep to remove with compounding.

3. Thanks braga thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Last pic looks pretty good.

5. Thanks braga thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Rsurfer View Post