autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Mini Polishers: DA vs Rotary

I am currently running the GG 6" and I am in the market for a mini-polisher. I am looking at the Flex PE8 Kompact and the Rupes Mini. Two major differences there are the price and the Flex is rotary vs the Rupes being a DA.

I am leaning towards the Flex for the price point but I have never used a rotary before. I know a lot of people are scared of rotary polishers but in all seriousness, how could I possibly mess up with this thing? Has anyone actually damaged a finish with a mini-polisher? Being in small spaces make you be all the more careful anyway so I feel like I would be fine. Plus, if I ever wanted to switch to a full-size rotary, I would have some experience under my belt I guess. Thinking I could pick this up and work from the lower speeds on up.

Thoughts?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Mini Polishers: DA vs Rotary

I don't have either of these particular machines, but I do plenty of surgical correction with my GG6, Flex 3401 and full size rotary using 3" pads. I also use a 2" pneumatic DA.

When doing intricate work, a rotary has the advantage of not oscillating; that is, you can see the very edge of the pad and it doesn't move, so to you can work right up to an edge or corner and get correction.

There are usually not too many spots on a car that require this type of work, so if you need to do two step to finish out, then so be it, minimal time spent