autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Post Thanks / Like

The power of a normal wheel cleaner: Griots Garage Wheel Cleaner

Simple, regular-strength wheel cleaners don't get much attention these days, and I think the Griots Wheel Cleaner is really an overlooked gem. I've been using the Griots for a couple years now and I'm on my third gallon jug. I like it that much.

In addition to doing a quick review of this great wheel cleaner, I thought I'd show how well a regular wheel cleaner will work on some seriously nasty wheels. There is a time and place for products like Meguiars Wheel Brightener or Brown Royal, but in the spirit of using the least aggressive approach first I'd encourage everyone to try a regular strength cleaner first. You might be surprised by the level of cleaning power.

Now on with the wheels:

A few weeks ago I delaminated the outer tread blocks on one of my front tires following an autocross event. For several years, I ran events on my regular wheel/tire sets, but soon realized I was tearing through tires faster than I should and by running a staggered wheel set on normal summer tires I was giving up several seconds to my competitors. So I went in search of a dedicated set of wheels and tires in a square set up. This lead me to stumble across a screaming deal on a used set in a city not far away. While the wheels and the sticky tires were exactly what I needed, they were a bit, ummm....grimy. I understand these are race wheels and you aren't gong to show them the same love as a set you drive on daily, but these were so bad you couldn't touch them without turning your hands black with brake dust!