autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

applying Ceramic coat over Zaino CS

I have several coats of z2 plus a sealant CS from Zaino on a new BMW. It is about a month old since last CS application.

Was trying to go to ceramic coating. Should i try to remove Zaino first with clay or machine polishing?
    Paint looks good and has really nice shine/water look from Zaino CS. it is smooth to touch and has no contamination.

Also wanted to see if there is any reviews of Avalon King - Armor Shield IX

Seems to be heavily advertised everywhere.

Im between that and Cquat Uk3 for the product to use in North east /Boston

it is my first time applying ceramic coating.
    I'm also sketchy applying it over sensors, camera lenses and multiple speed radar devices new car uses for auto driving.
    Should i tape over all the sensors ?

Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by Bobby B.; 09-13-2019 at 10:16 AM. Reason: item not sold at Autogeek

Post Thanks / Like

Re: applying Ceramic coat over Zaino CS

Zaino products, I believe, fit squarely in the sealant category. In my opinion you want that completely removed before applying any coating. You never apply a coating on wax or sealants.

Coatings need to be applied to squeaky clean virgin paint for best results.

As a minimum I would machine polish and then do panel wipes to thoroughly remove everything. Do the baggie test for the need to clay but if that's been done recently you may be good on that.

I apply my coatings over everything painted (e.g. rear/front bumper detectors). I also coat back up camera lenses. Never had any issues.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the AutogeekOnline!