autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Mike Phillips

Re: Review: Pinnacle Black Label Diamond Paint Coating - 2011 Inferno Orange Metallic Corvette Grand Sport

Quote Originally Posted by Maxreed241 View Post

Mike, how long did it take you to complete the Corvette? Between the washing, claying, correction, and then coating must have taken a while.

Thanks for the question. It's a good question too. I've always detailed cars and I consider myself FAST at it. I don't have to "guess" at what to do when I start, I know what to do because I have lots of real-world experience.

That said, I was just under 10 hours into this car not including any time spent taking and sharing videos on my Facebook page. The paint was very hard as is known by and experienced detailer. Even getting out the shallow swirls and scratches required an aggressive compound, foam cutting pads and I would state, not guess, 10 pounds of pressure against the head of the polisher. And then, only buffing out sections about the size of a microfiber towel, that is 16" by 16".

Also just to note - I started by machine scrubbing the tires to get the "crap" the dealership put on them off. I did not wash the car while washing the wheels and tires I did a waterless wash with the BLACKFIRE Paint Prep.

Feel free to ask any questions...

2. Thanks Maxreed241 thanked for this post
    Likes PaulMys, Maxreed241 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Review: Pinnacle Black Label Diamond Paint Coating - 2011 Inferno Orange Metallic Corvette Grand Sport

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Phillips View Post

Also just to note - I started by machine scrubbing the tires to get the "crap" the dealership put on them off.